Reading Memoirs

I have been on a serious memoir-reading kick lately, and I just figured out why.  Memoirs are the blogs of literature.  Because I LOVE blogs, it is only logical that I would be really into reading memoirs.  Often times, when I find a new blog, I’ll go back and read previous posts.  I like to know the beginning of a story, even if we (the memoir-author, blog-writer or reader) haven’t come to the end yet.  A quick review of the memoirs I have read (and loved) this year.  Before making this list, I didn’t think much about the fact that I seem to only be reading books by women:

The Wishing Year: a house, a man, my soul:  a memoir of fulfilled desire (Noelle Oxenhandler)

Poser:  my life in 23 yoga poses (Claire Dederer)

The Happiness Project (Gretchen Rubin)

The Dirty Life:  on farming, food, and love (Kristin Kimball)

Eat, Pray, Love and Committed:  a skeptic makes peace with marriage (Elizabeth Gilbert)

Bossypants (Tina Fey)

One thought on “Reading Memoirs

Leave a comment