Just that kind of month

I didn’t realize how demoralizing cold and drizzly days can be for me, until I noticed how much easier it has been to maintain an appropriate level of emotional response during this sunny, warmish past week.

I love this post from Martha Beck about “coping with a February.” Plus, I was watching or reading something the other day (can’t remember!) and it said something along the lines of, “February is the shortest month, but it seems like the longest.” Past the first sweater weather of the season and the holiday fun, being cold all the time and getting your feet wet because you optimistically wore non-waterproof suede boots kind of sucks.

Sometimes it can be super helpful to remember, though, as I turn on my space heater, that I’m not alone and that spring will come again.

Leave a comment